Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Earlier in 2017, Hyatt completely revamped their loyalty program, even going so far to change the name from Gold Passport to World of Hyatt. One of my favorite benefits of the program, no matter your elite level, is the ability to earn a free night after staying at 5 unique Hyatt brands. Below, we’ll discuss some of the finer points of the Hyatt 5 Night Brand award.

Hyatt Regency Nice, image courtesy of Hyatt

How do I earn the Hyatt 5 Night Brand Award?

This part is pretty straightforward: when you have a qualifying stay at five unique Hyatt brands, you’ll earn your Hyatt 5 Night Brand award. Eligible Hyatt brands are:

  • Park Hyatt
  • Miraval
  • Grand Hyatt
  • Hyatt Regency
  • Hyatt
  • Andaz
  • Hyatt Centric
  • The Unbound Collection by Hyatt
  • Hyatt Place
  • Hyatt House
  • Hyatt Zilara
  • Hyatt Ziva
  • Hyatt Residence Club

All other brands are not eligible and do not count towards the award.

(READ MORE: Park Hyatt Canberra Review)

Can I earn more than one award?

Yes! You earn a free night for every 5 unique brands you stay at, so theoretically, you could earn this award twice, as there are 13 eligible Hyatt brands listed above. Per the World of Hyatt terms and conditions:

Qualifying stays for a 5-Brand Free Night Award are measured over the life of a Member’s Program membership, beginning on March 1, 2017

How do I use my award?

Per Hyatt:

You can book the award through your “My Awards” page or by calling the Global Contact Center. This Free Night Award is valid for 1 year from date of issuance and must be redeemed for a reservation with a checkout date before the award expiration date. The 5-Brand Free Night Award is redeemable only for Category 1 – 4 Hyatt hotels or resorts and is not valid at M life Resorts. This award is redeemable for 1 free night in a standard room, only when standard rooms are available at the Standard Rate at the selected hotel or resort.

Do Hyatt 5 Night Brand awards expire?

As you can see above, yes, they do expire. You have one year from the issuance of the Hyatt 5 Night Brand award to use it. Additionally, “the Free Night in a Category 1 – 4 hotel or resort award must be redeemed for reservations with a checkout date prior to the expiration date of the award. Awards not redeemed prior to the expiration date of the award will be forfeited.” So don’t put off using it until the last possible moment!

Hyatt 5 Night Brand Award Conclusion

Maybe it’s just me, but until recently, I had totally glossed over this part of the new World of Hyatt program. From my perspective, this is a great opportunity to earn a free night, especially if you stay at Hyatt properties regularly. This promotion becomes even more valuable if you’re able to “game” the system; stay at five “lower tier” properties and get a free night at a Category 4 location. If you want to see more, you can access Hyatt’s FAQ page here.

Did you know about this promotion within World of Hyatt? Where have you used your free night certificate?

Header image Hyatt Regency Nice, courtesy of Hyatt.

Points With a Crew has partnered with CardRatings for our coverage of credit card products. Points With a Crew and CardRatings may receive a commission from card issuers. Responses are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered. Other links on this page may also pay me a commission - as always, thanks for your support if you use them